





'MAD MARCH HILLY' (SpoCo E) Open TT Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules & Regulations

Sunday 8th March 2020

Event Secretary: Leon West t: 07963 392707 e: westmatix@hotmail.com Timekeepers: Brian Webber and Robin Weaver

Event HQ: Lavenham Village Hall, Church St, Lavenham, Suffolk CO10 9QT

The HQ is located at the far end of the car park opposite the church, behind The Cock Horse public house. <u>Please do not wear cleats in the HQ as they will damage the floor.</u>

Numbers will be at the HQ. Sign on here, and exchange your number for a drink when you finish. **All** car parking to be in the car park adjacent to the village hall. **No car parking on the main road or near the start or finish.** Please leave the car parking spaces in front of the village hall free for Cycle Club Sudbury Officials.

Course: BS/24R 35km (21.7 miles) Lavenham-Newton-Hadleigh-Monks Eleigh-Lavenham circuit. **Start Time:** 08:00. Start on the B1071 by the telegraph pole opposite Potland Lane and the church. Course map and GPX file can be found here: <u>http://www.cycleclubsudbury.com/events/open-10</u>

When finishing, riders should continue back to the HQ, keeping the finish clear. The onus of keeping to the course rests with each rider.

- (a) In the interests of your own cycling safety, Cycling Time Trials and Cycle Club Sudbury strongly advise you to wear a Hard Shell Helmet that meets an internationally accepted safety standard.
- (b) No competitor shall be permitted to start either a Type A or Type B event unless such competitor has affixed to the rear of their machine a working rear ed light, either flashing or constant, that is illuminated and in a position that is clearly visible to other road users.
- (c) CCS also strongly recommend the use of a working front light, either flashing or constant, fitted to their machine.

All competitors under the age of 18 years and /or juniors must wear a properly-fitted helmet that must conform to a recognized Standard such as SNELL B95. C.T.T. (East District local regulations 2008).

(reg.8) **U-Turns** will not be permitted on the course or roads adjacent to start and finish areas while the race is in progress. **Note** Any breaking of this regulation in the first case may mean disqualification from the event; further cases will be referred to the District council.

Definition: a U-turn is defined as a 180 degree turn completed within the highway whilst astride the machine (it is recommended that the rider should dismount check the road is clear in both directions, then with machine walk across the road.)

(reg.11) Numbers will be available at the HQ and not at the start.

(reg.12) Warming Up, no warming up along the course by competitors once an event has started.

(reg.15) **Turbo Trainers**, the use of turbo trainers is banned at all events with am start times.

(reg. 21) **Paced & Company Riding,** Competitors must ride entirely alone and unassisted and not ride in company or take shelter (commonly known as drafting) from other riders or vehicles. A competitor overtaking another must pass without receiving or giving shelter. The onus of avoiding company riding shall be upon the rider overtaken.

PLEASE KEEP YOUR HEAD UP AT ALL TIMES - HEAD DOWN RIDING CAN KILL







Have a safe and enjoyable ride

Awards

Sporting course competitions:

This event is a Category B counting event for the SpoCo E series: http://www.team-cambridge.co.uk/spocoeast/index.html

Prize money:

Men	Women
$1^{st} = \pounds 25$	$1^{st} = \pounds 25$
2^{nd} = £20	2 nd = £20
3 rd = £15	3 rd = £15

Fastest Junior = \pounds 10 Fastest Team of 3 = \pounds 10 per rider.

Only one prize per rider will be awarded except for team prize.

2020 New Prize Category:

This year CCS will proudly trial a prize category for fastest male and female on a standard road bike set-up. To qualify for this category the rider must wear a regular helmet, not fit tribars or similar, have a maximum wheel depth of 90mm and wear regular length socks (no calf guards/ tripsocks/ etc).

Please choose relevant category from CTT website. Any questions please get in touch with L West.

Fastest Male = $\pounds 15$ Fastest Female = $\pounds 15$

Course record prizes:

£50 for the person (male or female) who sets the new overall course record (currently 00:48:08, Mark Arnold –CC Desiragear)

£50 for the Lady who sets the new Ladies course record (currently 00:50:52 Hayley Simmonds – Team WNT Pro Cycling)

£25 for the CC Sudbury, Hadleigh CC or Boxford Bike Club member who sets the new fastest time by a male member from these clubs (currently 00:50:23 Leon West - C.C. Sudbury)

£25 for the female CC Sudbury, Hadleigh CC or Boxford Bike Club member who sets the new fastest time by a female member of these clubs (currently 00:58:17 Mandy Bunn - Cycle Club Sudbury)

Only one course record prize per rider will be awarded Club course record prizes open to first claim members of respective clubs only.